beachfog

During a recent trip to our coast, I was given extra time to check things out, as one of my contacts was unable to meet.  I took off to one of the spots we always used to go to when we lived in the area.  I have posted photos from there before, and in all likelihood, I will again in the future. It is one of those places where you  like to go back to on a regular basis.  The mouth of the bay leads out into the ocean, there are jetties on both sides of the channel, and the sea does its best to put on a good show.  Having family and friends that go deep sea fishing and use this means to get to the sea is always (for us) of interest.  There is a Coast Guard tower nearby that keeps an eye on the tide and bar conditions, closing it down if needed. On this day, there was little use for the tower.  The crew did drop by to check conditions, but as you can see from the photos, they could not see any farther than the rest of us.  Binoculars not much help either, so they went back to their station.  Even the sea gulls were grounded……..more or less.  All of this adds up to a great day for photos. There was a fishing boat just off the rocks, but by the time I got the camera out, the fog covered him up.  I could hear some surf out at the end of the jetty, but I did not wander out to see.  With the fog you would have had to almost be in the waves as they crashed into the rocks.  Sorry, my camera is not waterproof, and the waves to unpredictable. A couple of gulls posed for me then flew off to look for food I should imagine.  Sounded good, so I did the same.   Oh, yes, I almost forgot.  The piling that is there used to hold up a railroad line.

 

About 2ndnaturephotos

photos for a hobby and relaxation. keeps the creative juices flowing. View all posts by 2ndnaturephotos

Leave a Reply

