Boots! – usually on the ground

So as I was experimenting with different objects, I ran across and old pair of boots that I have.  They are the same kind and brand that the loggers use who I had some images of in the last edition.  Now as photographers we play around with all sorts of subjects, some ours, some others, we even borrow stuff from time to time.  In the pursuit of unusual images, we use all sorts of things.  This is one of those trials.  When I was working full time, on my feet 10-12 hours a day, usually on cement floors, the proper foot wear is important.  I started wearing “custom” boots many years ago, and have not regretted it one bit.  These old workhorses have given me good  value for my dollar.  These particular ones are made by “Westco” which is a local company here in the Northwest.  They do have a website  – Westcoboots.com – if you want to look them up.  They have excellent products, are great people to work with and they offer many choices in footwear.  They have expanded into lines of more casual, everyday wear from their work boots. One of the many advantages of their boots is that they are rebuild-able  I have found if you have a good pair of boots, you usually hate to get rid of them. They are all nicely broken in and just feel good when you wear them.  The big box store stuff you buy now is programmed to last only a short time, and even if they do fit, that type won’t be there next time a round.  I’ve been down that road.  As you can see from the images, these boots have seen better days.  They still get used in the dry seasons.  They Have been rebuilt 3-4 times.  I’ve lost count.  They cannot be rebuilt again, the oils  and chemicals from  work take their toil on the leather. That’s ok, I have another pair.  I thought about the ones the loggers use – calks – (say – “corks”), they are the ones with the little spikes in the soles. My brother probably has a pair, along with the tin hat.  But I was not able to take off at the time and go get them.  So all of this comes down to you still need good footwear.  Even if you job is not falling trees and building roads.

About 2ndnaturephotos

photos for a hobby and relaxation. keeps the creative juices flowing. View all posts by 2ndnaturephotos

Leave a Reply

