morning adventures

Thinking about where to go this morning, I decided to return to the river front, around here usually referred to as the Esplanade.  It is a walkway that has been installed along our riverbanks downtown, and makes a nice ring around the city using the bridges to  link together both sides of the river.  It gets used for fun and exercise as well as commuting by foot, track shoe, or bicycle.  It’s been awhile since I have made this little adventure and it proved to be a lot of fun, and I guess I can say a flood of emotion as well before it was time to return home.  Early in the morning on our pathways around here, you get all sorts of travelers.  Being on the waterfront, I found a couple of fellas fishing.  Lots of bicycles, if you don’t watch, you will get run over!  There are lots of joggers working out their fitness routines.  One or two tourists, (one group was on Segway scooters).  Being summer, most are in brightly colored clothing.  One of those images is the lady reading a map on the post.  I took the image because she was standing in an area with all of the foliage around and she had all of the bright summer colors on – a colorful flower in all of the green leaves.  I found that along the safety fence, people have put locks all over the fence in one section.  I am assuming they signify the love for each other being “locked” together.   The whole trip is fun because you get to see the city waking up getting ready for the day.  The freeway filling with vehicles, commuter trains and buses  dropping folks off for work.  River tugs and barges delivering gravel to the cement plant downriver.  Raising bridges and disrupting traffic in the meantime.  The freight train sounded off, and as I like trains and was not far away from his bridge crossing, I headed that direction.  I got the engines crossing the bridge, not paying a lot of attention to his freight yet.   As it came into view, I realized what they were carrying.  It was a load of military vehicles.  All in all, not a bad thing, but on closer inspection when they got closer to me, I saw that they were returning units.  They had already seen their action.   After all of the history I have gone through in the last few weeks, this all hit a nerve or two.  I stood and watched as the armor plated backhoes and trucks went by, even a small tank.  What is the saying – “if they could talk, what would the stories be”?   All you can do is pray that the brave warriors manning these units made it home safe to their families.        A good day overall.

About 2ndnaturephotos

photos for a hobby and relaxation. keeps the creative juices flowing. View all posts by 2ndnaturephotos

Leave a Reply

