2nd edition

_MG_0166 copy _MG_0123-2 _MG_0238-2 _MG_0237-2 _MG_0230-2 _MG_0227-2 _MG_0184-2Because of the busy weekend coming up, I’m going to add this in now while I have a chance. This edition is as promised; panning or motion photos. I don’t think I can add anything new to all of the tutorials out there on this subject, they are all good. The one thing I can aim you towards  is PRACTICE, then practice some more, then do it again.  It is fun to do once you get the hang of what is going on. It doesn’t have to be bicycle racing. I use this because it is free and easy to access. These were shot with a Canon 20D and either a  17-85 or 100-300 lens.  The 17-85 was easier and worked better this time around. Matching my motion and speed with theirs was easier with the lighter, shorter lens. These racers do move quickly, and some of the locations around the track were a challenge to get a passable exposure. This “track” was not closed as it is a public park, so I was able to move around and get different views of the racers. I don’t have names for any of them, and any focus point on one as opposed to another is by chance and not favoritism. I don’t know any of them, but I admire their level of athletic ability. But again, you can use the kids on bikes in the neighborhood, horses, whatever you have. Try it!

About 2ndnaturephotos

photos for a hobby and relaxation. keeps the creative juices flowing. View all posts by 2ndnaturephotos

Leave a Reply

