new ground (water)!!

Normally, I’m not a water falls photo person. I like water falls, they are great. I can sit and watch them for a long time; like watching a campfire. You can set and watch for what seems like hours and just stare at it. and listen to it. Yes, you have to experience the sound effects as well. So the rushing water flowing over the rocks, the cool breeze along the creek, the bright green foliage nearby, it all adds up. But taking photos of all this has been a bit of a challenge for me. I’ve seen others do it, and their images turn out well. I’ve just not been one to want to hang the images on my wall. Mine were just not quite up to what I thought they should be. So, I now have a new project. Find what I think a waterfall image should be. 

This all came about  a week or so ago when I set out to hike to the top of Multnomah Falls. I arrived at the lodge/trailhead early in the morning (to avoid crowds), and after getting all ready to go, boots, water, snacks, layers, I found the trail closed because of work on the Benson Bridge. They had a large rock fall last winter and took a large chunk out of the bridge. For safety they have closed it off to travelers until it is repaired. Work is in progress, but obviously wouldn’t be finished today, so I had to find another trail. Returning back on the old highway, I stopped to check out Wahkeena Falls. It ended up being a great hike, and a few images. I then decided I would work on some waterfall photos, and see if I could make this an opportunity to improve my experiences for better images. It may take a few more trips, but that makes it more fun. The little dude gathering fluff for the nest was not taken near the falls. He (or she) was less than 100 yards from a very main highway.  

About 2ndnaturephotos

photos for a hobby and relaxation. keeps the creative juices flowing. View all posts by 2ndnaturephotos

Leave a Reply

